What’s Peace?

So in light of the latest terror attacks in Europe, this got me thinking. I can’t help but feel the sadness, and pain that many of our European neighbors must be feeling. Last night (Friday) we saw an attack on Paris unfold live on air, in what can only be described as a terrifying situation, we saw people literally fleeing for their lives, while being hunted by extremists. This mirrors scenes from earlier this year in Paris, and also years gone by in London, Madrid, Frankfurt, Burgas, Brussels, Copenhagen, Boston and New York to name a few.

I can not ignore the fact there is a lot of conflict around the world, which is predominantly East vs West. However we have been used to watching this unfold at a safe distance, via our televisions and internet. I have had many friends join the armed forces and be deployed to the middle east in recent years, so I have always kept an eye on these conflicts.Although I can not vouch to be an expert in politics nor religion.

As the terror moves closer and closer to home i.e. Great Britain, after all Calais, France is only 22 miles away. I can not help but think of our home front safety, my families and my friend’s safety. I, as do many others work in London and after events like that in Paris can’t help but have a slight fear of what may happen in the near future.

Although I will not dwell on what may or may not happen, I do stop and think of what sort of world we’ve brought our children into, I can only imagine things will get worse. Although I have full faith in our security in this country and give my full support to our Police and Military, there’s always something in the back of my mind, the fact still remains I have a family to protect should things get out of control.

Where do we stand? As UK Prime Minister David Cameron said in his speech regarding Paris, “We must recognise that however strong we are, however much we prepare, we in the UK face the same threat.”

Upon hearing that, although its happened here before, you put it to the back of your minds, you never forgot but you do try to ignore it. Which is not a bad thing, as you would probably end up living in paranoia if you didn’t.

However, it is with times like these that I think of our strategy, Our families plan for unpredictable situations. I urge you to do the same with your families. Discuss what to do, where you’ll go, how you’ll get there, what you’ll take, etc. You get the gist. Make sure you make your children aware, but be cautious not to scare them.

I am not afraid to say that if my country needed me I would be one of the first to stand up and be counted, But I will not put anything before my family, I am sure most of you feel the same way.

So take this how you will, but if there is anything to learn from the ever-growing threat that surrounds us. My message is ‘Be prepared’.

It is with a heavy heart that I ask you to stand with me and wish the people of France our sincerest condolences.

paris-peace-sign

 

2 thoughts on “What’s Peace?

Leave a Reply

